Page Location: Home > Quake III Arena > Topic

Forum: Quake III Arena

Topic: Q3A DedicadedServer Package

Page 1 of 1
fallout
rank 16
Posted:
Tue Aug 28, 2007 2:10 pm
quote : #1
profile : pm
Posts: 278
Type: PAL
Hello, here is something I have complety forgotten collecting dust on my harddrive for quite some time.
It let's you create a dedicated gameserver for Quake III Arena for the Sega Dreamcast 'out of the box*'.

I rechecked all the content corrected some errors and think it's ready to put here.


The biggest difference to other methods mentioned elswhere for creating a dedicated Quake III Arena server are,

A: Size difference only 27 Megabytes (.Mb)
B: No need to upload the whole Quake III Arena CD content to the remote server
C: Preconfigured server configs for vanilla gameplay 'ffa,ctf...'
D: Optional some serverside mods and tools (rcon,serverstats)


Steps:
Download q3a-dc-dedserver.tar.gz
Untar the archiv
Edit Serverstartup scripts eg. ffa.sh for free for all server (username and directory)
Open Server Ports (firewall,router) see README 'Network Ports:'
Start server
Play



Download Links:
http://www.filefront.com/17649568/q3a-dc-dedserver.tar.gz
http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?m9998cfb3aacmp9
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/16996347/q3a-dc-dedserver.tar.gz

MD5 HASH: 09486c67e213b3b82bc3960d1aedf4a8
SHA1 HASH: 12c4464a2f2f6de9ff7caa49e5fb1aa7f80ca1c0

Updates/Contribute

If I find errors inside this release, or feel like to release some kind of usefull addon that users will benefit
you can find these 'updates' on the following website

Also any good or bad feedback is apreciated

http://www.quakedc.6x.to



I hope you find this package/collection usefull
Greetings

Last edited by fallout on Sun Jan 09, 2011 6:22 pm; edited 2 times in total
  _________________
http://members.multimania.co.uk/fall3/ 4x4Evo
http://fallout.bplaced.net
Linux for the masses
U-235
rank 18
Posted:
Wed Aug 29, 2007 7:57 am
quote : #2
profile : pm
Posts: 331
I'll set up a Q3A server on a linux box tonight, Fallout. Please note people that I won't be leaving it up though, but I can set it up and write a reply here of how it's done.
  _________________
Red River RAmar
lordnikon
rank 87
Posted:
Wed Aug 29, 2007 8:47 am
quote : #3
profile : pm
Posts: 5902
Type: NTSC-U/C
Question

http://dreamcast.onlineconsoles.com/phpBB2/guides_q3_serversetup.php#1
  _________________
I'm already numero uno on Dark Helmet's hit list...
U-235
rank 18
Posted:
Wed Aug 29, 2007 10:48 am
quote : #4
profile : pm
Posts: 331
It would be possible to make that process a bit easier with a shell script, Nikon. I could make some scripts for it, but they would definitely be Ubuntu/Debian specific. An example of a script file would be like this:


sudo gedit /bin/ffa

[when the text editor opens enter]
#!/bin/bash/
./q3ded +set dedicated 2 +set net_port 27960 +exec ffa1.cfg

[save and exit text editor]

[in terminal type]

sudo chmod +x /bin/ffa


you would then only have to type "ffa" in the terminal to run the server. Or at least that's the way it *should* work. Mr. Green
  _________________
Red River RAmar
fallout
rank 16
Posted:
Thu Aug 30, 2007 7:29 am
quote : #5
profile : pm
Posts: 278
Type: PAL
Thanks U-235 it would be a great help , if you could create some simple shell scripts !

Right now if you want to run a server on windows . You only need to make 3 steps , download , unpack , click on bat file Wink .
Would be nice to have this for linux guys too.


I just cleaned it a bit and moved executebals into .\bin\ folder . But now the problem is how to pass the current working dir to the engine... without knowing where people might unpack the content


@cd .\bin\
quake3.exe fs_game "baseq3" +set fs_Startup "" +set fs_basepath "cd..\"


don't work
Also tried pushd popd


Using this tiny code snippet I can atleast switch back to main directory . Well he displays it ...

set OLDDIR=%CD%
@cd .\bin\
quake3.exe fs_game "baseq3" +set fs_Startup "" +set fs_basepath "chdir /d %OLDDIR%"


But still he don't wan't to load ...


Q3 1.16n win-x86 Mar 14 2000
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
chdir /d C:\files\projects\DCQUAK~1\win/baseq3

----------------------

Running in restricted demo mode.

----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
chdir /d C:\files\projects\DCQUAK~1\win/demoq3

----------------------
----- CL_Shutdown -----
-----------------------
Couldn't load default.cfg



EDIT nevermind I fixed it with following code


setlocal
REM set parameters
set BASEDIR=%CD%
set MOD=baseq3
set MAP=test_bigbox


@cd .\bin\
quake3_1.16n_nocd_fixed.exe +set fs_basepath %BASEDIR% +set dedicated 2 +sets gamestartup "%2 %3" +set com_hunkMegs 30 +set net_noipx 1 +set fs_game "%MOD%" +set net_port 27960 +set maxclients 4 +set sv_pure 0 +sets sv_allowdownload 0 +set g_gametype 0 +map %MAP% +exec ctf.cfg
cd..
@ECHO ON
  _________________
http://members.multimania.co.uk/fall3/ 4x4Evo
http://fallout.bplaced.net
Linux for the masses
U-235
rank 18
Posted:
Fri Aug 31, 2007 12:00 am
quote : #6
profile : pm
Posts: 331
I can make some simple script files, no problem. Just remember that they will be for basic use. If you want to change stuff around like the ports, you'd have to do that on your own. And absolutely MUST be in the /bin/ directory, of course. What would be the best thing to do is put the instructions and code up here so people could copy and paste it. Seeing as how I'm limited to Ubuntu/Debian, Red Hat/Mandriva/Suse/etc users would be able to change the code around to suit their needs, if it's even needed.
  _________________
Red River RAmar
fallout
rank 16
Posted:
Wed Sep 12, 2007 4:08 am
quote : #7
profile : pm
Posts: 278
Type: PAL
Quote:
And absolutely MUST be in the /bin/ directory


Could you explain me the folder structure of quake when loading on a linux box ? I plan on putting a minimum debian install on my p75 comp , but need a powercord first and have to get 1 of my 2 old harddrives working ... until then I'm clueless . And I doubt freesco with its shrinked kernel allows running a quake server
  _________________
http://members.multimania.co.uk/fall3/ 4x4Evo
http://fallout.bplaced.net
Linux for the masses
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Display:   
 
View previous topic - View next topic
Page Location: Home > Quake III Arena > Topic