Page Location: Home > Support > PC-DC Server > Topic
mysteryracer
rank 1
Posted:
Fri Jan 25, 2013 4:56 am
quote : #1
profile : pm
Before I begin talking about the one problem that is preventing me from getting my dreamcast online, I want to explain my situation first. I'm no expert at networking, but I would say that I can reasonably work through problems, even if it takes me a while (so I would say I'm competent enough to take advice). Anyway, I had purchased a HIRO H50113 56k v.92 USB Data/Fax/Voice modem, expecting to follow a guide for connecting my Dreamcast through a PC DC Linux server. However, my USB modem ended up not supporting Linux, so I was stuck in a hole. Searching for an idea, I thought of making a PC DC server through Windows ME on VMware. I knew I'd be fine doing so, following Lordnikon's guide, seeing as doing all the steps he laid out would work, but I knew one major problem would arise; getting my USB modem to go through to the VM and become detected on Windows ME. Ethernet was no big issue, as VMware allowed me to bridge the connection to my Host OS's Wifi and access the internet through the Guest OS (Windows ME), but I'm having a huge issue in getting my USB modem to connect through to the Guest OS.

Let me explain my process in the matter:

- First, I installed the drivers and the USB Modem to my Host OS, then checked its COM port in "Device Manager" to find it was in COM3

- After Windows ME installed on VMware, on the Host OS, I went to Manage -> Virtual Machine Settings -> Add... -> Serial Port -> Use Physical serial port -> (Selected the COM3 port)

- I also selected "Bridged" on my network adapter, so Windows ME can surf the internet just fine, and I can find the ethernet adapter within the Guest OS

- For precautions, I installed the same drivers for my USB modem that I did on my Host OS onto my Guest OS