Page Location: Home > General Online > Topic

Forum: General Online

Topic: Setting up a dial tone

Page 1 of 1
Nilesa12
rank 4
Posted:
Mon Mar 30, 2015 7:39 pm
quote : #1
profile : pm
Posts: 21
Does anyone know a method that they can tell me to produce a dial tone.

I've been up and down the internet trying to figure this out with absolutely no luck.

Dial tone simulators are a little expensive for what I'm looking for just in case you were wondering.
And no I don't have a home phone line.
 
lordnikon
rank 86
Posted:
Mon Mar 30, 2015 9:08 pm
quote : #2
profile : pm
Posts: 5893
Type: NTSC-U/C
External 56K Serial Modem
Serial to USB Adapter (a decent one, don't cheap on this)
Linux running in a Virtual Machine (Virtualbox, VMWare)
TheMytho's PCDC guide
  _________________
I'm already numero uno on Dark Helmet's hit list...
Nilesa12
rank 4
Posted:
Tue Mar 31, 2015 2:43 pm
quote : #3
profile : pm
Posts: 21
I don't think that guide tells you how to setup a dial tone does it?

From what I can tell its just how to setup a PC-DC server which I've already done.
 
lordnikon
rank 86
Posted:
Tue Mar 31, 2015 10:30 pm
quote : #4
profile : pm
Posts: 5893
Type: NTSC-U/C
Check this out: http://dreamcast.onlineconsoles.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=8755
  _________________
I'm already numero uno on Dark Helmet's hit list...
iluk
rank 3
Posted:
Wed Apr 15, 2015 12:02 pm
quote : #5
profile : pm
Posts: 17
Type: NTSC-J
Nilesa12 wrote:
I don't think that guide tells you how to setup a dial tone does it?

From what I can tell its just how to setup a PC-DC server which I've already done.


I guess you want to build a line voltage inducer. This link could help you :
http://www.dreamcast-scene.com/guides/pc-dc-server-guide-win7/#step6

By the way, I tried to build one myself, you can see the photos there :
http://topdream.imaginux.com/topliste.php?fiche=29

I didn't manage to have the dialup working, but I hope somebody here could confirm I am on the good way !

Last edited by iluk on Thu May 07, 2015 5:15 pm; edited 1 time in total
 
iluk
rank 3
Posted:
Fri May 01, 2015 3:51 pm
quote : #6
profile : pm
Posts: 17
Type: NTSC-J
Now I can confirm my circuit is working with US dreamcast modems, and any PC modem (tested with mgetty on linux).
By the way I can't get it working with PAL modems yet.
Tell me if you have any question about the line voltage inducer Smile
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Display:   
 
View previous topic - View next topic
Page Location: Home > General Online > Topic