Page Location: Home > Quake III Arena > Topic

Forum: Quake III Arena

Topic: Q3 Server Requirements

Page 1 of 1
Einhander
rank 20
Posted:
Sat Feb 07, 2004 8:10 pm
quote : #1
profile : pm
Posts: 389
Type: NTSC-U/C
I am planning on starting a Quake III server for me and some local (Oregon) friends (sorry, not 24/7), and I was wondering what the minimum specs for a dedicated server were.

Using Q3 dedicated server software isn't extremely hardware-dependent, I know, but the machine I am thinking of using would be a Pentium Pro 200Mhz with 78mb RAM, on a cable connection. I think that this would be ok for hosting 4 players without any server-side mods cluttering things up, but I figured I would ask to see if anyone else has hosted/played on a server at or near these specifications.

When you think about it, the server software is simply a glorified console, but I just thought I would check before I took the plunge and spent $12 on a PC copy of Quake III (I'm cheap).

Any help or info would be greately appreciated.
 
evilnine
unknown
Posted:
Sat Feb 07, 2004 8:15 pm
quote : #2
profile : pm
Posts: 224
i suggest a shuttle PC, small, plenty of juice to run your server with the stats u just listed, look for one at www.ebay.com/ or http://www.tigerdirect.com/
 
lordnikon
rank 86
Posted:
Sat Feb 07, 2004 8:27 pm
quote : #3
profile : pm
Posts: 5898
Type: NTSC-U/C
Don't listen to evilnine he doesn't know what he is talking about. The machine your planning on using should be perfect Einhander. I run a local server for testing purposes on my LAN as well, I use a scrub machine, 350mHz. Worked perfectly.if you have any issues the only recommendation I would have is to add maybe a touch more ram. The OS might suck up a lot of ram. Make sure you tweak your system out to disable any unecessary processes running so the dedicated server isn't fighting for ram with needless background processes.

A Pentium Pro 200Mhz with 78mb RAM, on a cable connection should be perfect.
  _________________
I'm already numero uno on Dark Helmet's hit list...
Einhander
rank 20
Posted:
Sat Feb 07, 2004 8:35 pm
quote : #4
profile : pm
Posts: 389
Type: NTSC-U/C
Quote:
A Pentium Pro 200Mhz with 78mb RAM, on a cable connection should be perfect.


Groovy.
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Display:   
 
View previous topic - View next topic
Page Location: Home > Quake III Arena > Topic