Page Location: Home > Archive - General > Topic
ganjaborg
rank 3
Posted:
Wed Mar 03, 2004 5:49 am
quote : #1
profile : pm
Posts: 11
hi ppl, i do play sometimes f355 in the every 20 min races.
i have several copies of f355, the best one is a pal version with cover signed by all ferrari F1 team (schumi, barrichello, montezemolo, todt etc..).
my japanese version offer the link system gamin, with 2 copies of game, 2 dcs, and 2 tv u can challenge real time via dc link cable.

so ...
i suck in programming, but i wonder if it is possible to imamgine something like what is goin on on cube, ps2 and xbox,
i mean non official tunneling with that allows people to play online via "online" lan.
  _________________
u can find me online on all platforms, of course on dreamcast games if u arrange a match with me : )
lordnikon
rank 86
Posted:
Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:03 am
quote : #2
profile : pm
Posts: 5895
Type: NTSC-U/C
Its not possible. System-Link does not use internet protocols to connect the 2 systems. Also the games online modes were not originally designed to run in real-time online, or on a LAN. Plus the game is not even bba compatible.

Games that get tunneled are always LAN compatible games. Dialup games cannot be tunneled. Games that allow for cross system compatibility or pc made servers....are ALL games that the developers originally designed them for. Such as Quake 3 and 4x4 EVO.

So there is no way to play F355 online in real-time.
  _________________
I'm already numero uno on Dark Helmet's hit list...
ganjaborg
rank 3
Posted:
Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:40 am
quote : #3
profile : pm
Posts: 11
ok, thx for explanations.
so the only possibility to play real time f355 battle on dc is to link up 2 dcs Confused
  _________________
u can find me online on all platforms, of course on dreamcast games if u arrange a match with me : )
lordnikon
rank 86
Posted:
Wed Mar 03, 2004 7:42 am
quote : #4
profile : pm
Posts: 5895
Type: NTSC-U/C
Yes that is correct. I myself recently aquired a DC vs Cable for just that occasion. Still waiting for my friend to come over sometime so we can try it out. But I tested it solo, it works awsome. Throw in some steering wheels and you have yourself a true arcade setup :D
  _________________
I'm already numero uno on Dark Helmet's hit list...
ganjaborg
rank 3
Posted:
Wed Mar 03, 2004 8:25 am
quote : #5
profile : pm
Posts: 11
i had one vs cable, we tried it on dc pal.
the problem was that on monitor game where running at 60 hz, on tv (even if suporting 100hz) because of the dc was pal was forcing the game to 50hz(dc pal runs games at 60 hz, but if u put import force it to 50 hz Mad ).
so the two consoles where runing to a different framerate, and i suddenly bring the cable back Sad
the idea of having a f355 dual dc arcade is still in my mind Rolling Eyes
  _________________
u can find me online on all platforms, of course on dreamcast games if u arrange a match with me : )
Truewrestler
rank 6
Posted:
Wed Mar 03, 2004 12:31 pm
quote : #6
profile : pm
Posts: 41
lordnikon, you may have already told me this but where is a good place to order the link/versus cable?
 
lordnikon
rank 86
Posted:
Wed Mar 03, 2004 6:49 pm
quote : #7
profile : pm
Posts: 5895
Type: NTSC-U/C
I got mine from http://www.play-asia.com, great service.
  _________________
I'm already numero uno on Dark Helmet's hit list...
jools
rank 8
Posted:
Sat Mar 13, 2004 1:00 pm
quote : #8
profile : pm
Posts: 98
Hi ganjaborg

I met you in a Net-race. It is a great idea to link 2 DC with F355. I just need a link cable now.
Another F355 racer (from France) called cabou has done it. He has pictures of his set-up saved, but doesn't know how to post them. Does anyone know how he can do it?

i sent you a PM ganjaborg Smile
 
Pryonic
rank 5
Posted:
Tue May 11, 2004 4:40 pm
quote : #9
profile : pm
Posts: 31
hi there

i'm cabou's friend we did this set up together

he bougth the cable vs link and the vga cables at "lik sang"
and we used two 19" flat screens i own

you will find link for the pics on the topic named " F355 ticking me off"
or directly on my messy home page here Shocked

http://perso.wanadoo.fr/pryonic/

regards
(the froggy's)
  _________________
570smr
jools
rank 8
Posted:
Fri May 14, 2004 10:51 am
quote : #10
profile : pm
Posts: 98
Yeah, i saw pictures of that great set-up at dreamennia. I can't view your home-page with my DC. Maybe i need a pc to see it?

Congratulations on your 2nd place at the F355 Championship. You are improving faaast. I hope your friend Cabou races again. See you on the track soon, byeee.
 
BrockStrongo
rank 11
Posted:
Mon May 17, 2004 3:53 am
quote : #11
profile : pm
Posts: 166
when are you going to get back racin again J?

ill be on the track tuesday, unfortunatly couldnt make thursday or fridays races last week Sad or even Starlancer and PSO

Cya
  _________________
http://f355.tsx.org

F355 and Starlancer reports Smile
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Display:   
 
View previous topic - View next topic
Page Location: Home > Archive - General > Topic