Topic: the VMU is beeping?

Page 1 of 1
Deeps
rank 1
Posted:
Tue Jan 01, 2008 1:47 pm
quote : #1
profile : pm
Hey everyone, been on this site for about an hour just reading posts and whatnot. As the topic says I'm new to the DC scene. I just got mine on Christmas from my gf. Just posting to say 'Hi' and i had a few questions about the VMU:

1) I read about a loud beeping sound coming from the DC/VMU, and i guess it is cuz the battery is dying? My VMU makes the loud screeching sound whenever the DC is turned on, and when the VMU is removed from the controller and put back in. Should i get a new battery for it? Also, what battery does it take? (on the back it says "CR2032" is that it?)

2) How do you use the VMU standalone, or is that even possible? IE. in Skies the Pinta Quest

Thanks for reading!!

gRimGrAvY014
rank 27
Posted:
Tue Jan 01, 2008 2:11 pm
quote : #2
Type: NTSC-U/C
First of all, welcome to OC Smile

1. Yeah, it pretty much means that the batteries on your vmus are dead. But unless you wanna play some of the vmu minigames, you don' t need to replace them.

Mazonemayu
rank 27
Posted:
Tue Jan 01, 2008 2:25 pm
quote : #3
0) Welcome & happy newyear m8

1) Has nothing to do with batteries, the VMU makes that noise when the DC finds one connected to it. I believe some games allow you to shut the bleep off. CR2032 is the type of battery you'll need if you want to use your VMU standalone

2) See to it that it has batteries, download a minigame to it from a DC game

Deeps
rank 1
Posted:
Tue Jan 01, 2008 3:06 pm
quote : #4
thanks gRimGrAvY014 & Mazonemayu for the info about the vmu

Einhander
rank 20
Posted:
Tue Jan 01, 2008 9:32 pm
quote : #5
Every once in a while my friends and I will fire up some four-player Quake III. There is no sound like the terrible symphony of eight VMUs all beeping at once.