lordnikon
rank 87
Posted:
Fri Feb 01, 2008 9:26 am
quote : #1
profile : pm
Type: NTSC-U/C
Hello Everyone,

Due to recent events, I have lost my contract position at the company I was working for. The economy is messed up right now, but more importantly the financial sectors, are in chaos. The company I was doing design work for, was in the Financial business, and are making cost cuts. In addition to the state of the economy they did not have a very good year. I was a contractor with the company, and thus had to be let go. It had nothing to do with performance, but a numbers game. They had to cut costs and contractors were most of the first to go.

So, because of this I do not have the immediate income to continue funding the OC game servers which currently cost:

$5.92 per day
$41.54 per week
$180.00 per month
$2160.00 per year

These servers currently provide the following services:

Dreamcast - Quake 3 Arena (10 game servers)
Playstation 2 - Star Wars Battlefront (1 game server)
Playstation 2 - Star Wars Battlefront II (1 game server)
GameCube - Phantasy Star Online Ep 1&2 (1 world server)
Dreamcast - Maximum Pool (1 matchmaking list)

There is even room on these machines for growth to add even more services.

This may or may not change, depending on how quickly I can acquire another job assignment. However at the moment I need to lockdown my finances, and these servers leeching off of my bank account with each passing month is just not viable when I have no income coming in.

We need to decide what to do about these game servers. I really do mean "WE" when I say this. This is a community decision, and I am presenting this problem as something for all of us to discuss.