Page Location: Home > Dreamcast Lounge > Topic
Arubeto
rank 7
Posted:
Tue May 12, 2009 3:32 pm
quote : #1
profile : pm
Posts: 71
Hi,

I finally got Skies of Arcadia from ebay today, but I was very unlucky because my DC refuses to load disc 1 (disc 2 works fine, though). Since I couldn't make out any big scratches on the discs surface I wondered if it's the game discs fault or because my DC has some problems with it's laser.

Is there a way to determine the true reason for such cases without buying a second game or dreamcast? I have some more games that refuse to load without showing heavy marks on the surface, so I was wondering if the games are alright but my system is broken, perhaps.

Any good hints would be very appreciated!
 
Manji
rank 6
Posted:
Sat May 16, 2009 9:18 am
quote : #2
profile : pm
Posts: 46
Type: NTSC-U/C
maybe if you tried another disc 1 copy of Skies of Arcadia? could be the disc itself but if disc 2 works fine as you say, its a little confusing. my only guesses since im not so technically inclined would be dirty lens, lens/laser alignment or a worn out something else like drive motor.

personally i would get a replacement dc since i'm not familiar with fixing things. but if you feel comfortable taking it apart i would recommend that and looking under the hood. mess around with it but still get a replacement dc so you can play games and at the same time work on fixing your other system. could be an interesting learning experience!
 
Kizzy
rank 9
Posted:
Sat May 30, 2009 4:04 am
quote : #3
profile : pm
Posts: 101
Some disks drive me nuts? I buy and sell a lot of DC games and consoles. I have recently had two PAL Power Stone 2's sent back by customers (at my expense!!) Upon retesting both of them they work perfectly on 4 Dreamcasts I have at home????

Over the years I have had some brand new shrink-wrapped games that refused to work? I remember a "dodgy batch" of Worms Armageddon, I had several of them that would not work?
 
amcdc79
rank 10
Posted:
Mon Jun 01, 2009 4:34 pm
quote : #4
profile : pm
Posts: 125
Regarding the first disc of Skies, the same thing happened to me. How I did I fix it? I used the GameShark lite on it(treated it like an import) just once, and it has worked ever since. Why that works I do not know, but the GS-lite has worked for a couple of other games as well, when they would not load. Good luck!
Btw, the GS-lite has been cheap on ebay the last couple of years(under$10.00 including shipping) and the bonus of course is that it will boot up imports as well.
 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Display:   
 
View previous topic - View next topic
Page Location: Home > Dreamcast Lounge > Topic