Page Location: Home > Quake III Arena > Topic
-Drez01-
rank 8
Posted:
Wed Oct 05, 2011 1:58 pm
quote : #1
profile : pm
Posts: 77
Type: NTSC-U/C
Quake 3 Arena now works from Dreamcast SD card Reader, I did this a while ago but have not posted here. This is my moded version and runs 100%. Game does not read from SD card after the map has loaded so there are no slow downs and runs just as fast as CD/GD. Image is only 200 megs! Online works 100% also.
Tested with DreamShell 4.0 Beta 4

Download Link to Quake 3 Arena SD card Image:

http://www.theisozone.com/downloads/dreamcast/sd-isos/quake-3-arena-sdiso-usa/

Last edited by -Drez01- on Fri Oct 25, 2013 3:02 pm; edited 1 time in total
 
lordnikon
rank 86
Posted:
Wed Oct 05, 2011 6:09 pm
quote : #2
profile : pm
Posts: 5889
Type: NTSC-U/C
Excellent, this is great news. This could mean a whole new future for DC Q3. It will be great to see how this stuff further develops.

Using custom maps before meant burning a custom disc, loading a CDR into your Dreamcast, and then running it. Adding new maps would mean starting the process all over again. It is why I never really thought custom maps would be a viable option for mass usage.

However, using the SD card changes everything.
  _________________
I'm already numero uno on Dark Helmet's hit list...
Kbuzz
rank 23
Posted:
Thu Oct 06, 2011 11:15 am
quote : #3
profile : pm
Posts: 473
Type: NTSC-U/C
I noticed that a little while back. Never thought of how to use it.

My SD adapter has gone unused mostly, but it's a neat little device anyway.
  _________________
Pso: Kingbuzzo lvl 80
QUake 3: [OC] Kingbuzzo
gRimGrAvY014
rank 26
Posted:
Sun Oct 09, 2011 2:25 am
quote : #4
profile : pm
Posts: 547
Type: NTSC-U/C
Where can I go about acquiring an SD adapter? I haven't put any thought into it until now, but this really opens the door for Quake!
 
Kbuzz
rank 23
Posted:
Sun Oct 09, 2011 7:31 pm
quote : #5
profile : pm
Posts: 473
Type: NTSC-U/C
there are trusted sellers on ebay.
  _________________
Pso: Kingbuzzo lvl 80
QUake 3: [OC] Kingbuzzo
everynewday84
rank 12
Posted:
Mon Feb 13, 2012 11:06 pm
quote : #6
profile : pm
Posts: 196
Type: NTSC-U/C
Wow, this is great Mr. Green I just now got around to testing this out, it works great! Dreamshell booted the SDISO just fine and I WAS able to join PC servers.

Thank you so much, -Drez-. Now we just have to find a time to play some DCQIII Online sometime Wink
 
vash32
rank 3
Posted:
Sun May 06, 2012 1:17 pm
quote : #7
profile : pm
Posts: 15
Type: NTSC-U/C
Wow, This is great but megaupload is down for good you need a new link.
P.S. you can buy a New copy of QIII Arena for DC on ebay for like 7 to 8 for USD
  _________________
PSOv2: Vash Lv27 (Not Online at OC.com) I use sylverant
Q3A
-Drez01-
rank 8
Posted:
Fri Oct 25, 2013 2:58 pm
quote : #8
profile : pm
Posts: 77
Type: NTSC-U/C
New Download Link: (sorry for the delay)

http://www.theisozone.com/downloads/dreamcast/sd-isos/quake-3-arena-sdiso-usa/
 
lordnikon
rank 86
Posted:
Wed Oct 30, 2013 9:05 am
quote : #9
profile : pm
Posts: 5889
Type: NTSC-U/C
Awesome! Thanks Drez01!

I actually just ordered an SD Card reader for the Dreamcast. So I am looking forward to checking this ISO out. Wink
  _________________
I'm already numero uno on Dark Helmet's hit list...
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Display:   
 
View previous topic - View next topic
Page Location: Home > Quake III Arena > Topic