Page Location: Home > Support > PC-DC Server > Topic
konio38
rank 1
Posted:
Fri Feb 03, 2012 7:19 am
quote : #1
profile : pm
Type: PAL
Hi there guys im relatively new to the Dreamcast online scene, but i have read and studied a bunch of tutorials so i preaty much know how all of this work but the question i have seems a bit noobish i know but moving on..

I live in PAL territory therefore i have a PAL dreamcast, and of course a PAL modem, now i have configured everything for a pc-dc server, but has you may know the PAL modem requires a Line voltage simulator, and my question is simple is there anyway possible that i can pass a line voltage simulator, i simply cant aford one, and in my country is very hard to find any electronic parts to make one, belive it or not our hardware shops dont sell things like capacitors or resistors.

Of course i could try and buy a NTSC modem, but has i said its a matter of money i simply cant afford anything too expensive now.

Thank you for your time and i hope you guys can help me.

DC2 12/12/12 I BELIEVE Cool

jjc5150
rank 11
Posted:
Fri Feb 03, 2012 8:45 am
quote : #2
Type: NTSC-U/C
Hi,

Well Im from the US, and im not too familiar with the UK/Pal hardware, but your cheapest way to get setup is to find a NTSC type A model model. Ive seen them on ebay here in the US for $10.00 or even less, so its not too expensive.

Other than that it depends on what type of modem you are using in your pc. Ive heard stories where it worked without the line voltage. So I would try to get it going and see if it works with out it. Other than that Ive also heard that you can get it going with a usb (or serial) external modem without the voltage - so it may be possible to get one used (on ebay, etc) for pretty cheap as well.
Jabber ID: JJC5150@jabber.org
konio38
rank 1
Posted:
Fri Feb 03, 2012 9:31 am
quote : #3